Tippecanoe School Corporation
TSC names 2021 Teachers of the Year
Sue Scott

The Tippecanoe School Corporation has named Claire Brown as the TSC Elementary Teacher of the Year and Kelly Carpenter as the TSC Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Brown is a kindergarten teacher at Mayflower Mill Elementary School. She has been with the TSC for 14 years and has a bachelor’s degree from Purdue University. Carpenter is an English teacher at McCutcheon High School. She has been teaching for 22 years and has a master’s degree from Indiana Wesleyan University and a bachelor’s degree from Purdue University.

“The TSC is extremely proud of all our teachers and especially this year as they engaged students during the most precarious school year and under the most unusual circumstances,” says TSC Superintendent Dr. Scott Hanback. “TSC’s faculty and staff not only persevered but thrived. Our entire community is grateful for the learning opportunities made available to our students despite the pandemic.”

Brown is the Kindergarten Department Chair at Mayflower Mill and recipient of numerous grants. Principal Shannon Cauble characterizes Brown as an innovative leader: “Mrs. Brown uses Purposeful Play in her classroom that makes every moment an engaging teachable moment. She is a leader in using technology to improve her instruction, connect with families and encourage students to create and demonstrate their learning in a digital world.”

Carpenter is the assistant head of the English Department and has served as a class sponsor, yearbook advisor and other roles at McCutcheon High School. “Her work ethic is unmatched and her passion for education is an example for others,” says Principal John Beeker. “She is always searching for the best way to deliver content to students that inspires them to do their best.”

A committee selected the two winners from a field of 19 building-level winners (listed below). Brown and Carpenter will represent TSC in the Indiana 2022 Teacher of the Year program.

2020-2021 Teachers of the Year

Elementary Schools

Battle Ground, Deanna Bibler, kindergarten

Burnett Creek, Brock Davis, grade 4

Cole, Ellen DeFreese, grade 3

Dayton, Sarah Harmon, grade 4/5 

Hershey, Madeena Coates, grade 4

Klondike, Kimberly Steiner, grade 1

Mayflower Mill, Claire Brown, kindergarten

Mintonye, Margaret "Peggy" Huhn, art

Wea Ridge, Lisa Oaks, grade 3

Woodland, Kristina Arbic, grade 1

Wyandotte, Jodi Wickes, grade 2

Middle Schools

Battle Ground, Elizabeth Buss, special education

East Tipp, Alyxandra Feltner, special education

Klondike, Jason Caudill, band

Southwestern, Arianne Menon, math

Wainwright, Kelly Caudill, choir

Wea Ridge, Candy Crone, social studies

High Schools

Harrison, Jeffrey VanArsdel, business

McCutcheon, Kelly Carpenter, English