Tippecanoe School Corporation


Tippecanoe School Corporation names Teachers of the Year
Tippecanoe School Corporation names Teachers of the Year

The Tippecanoe School Corporation has named Dedra Downham as the TSC Elementary Teacher of the Year and Ashley Greeley as the TSC Secondary Teacher of the Year.

The Indiana Department of Education created a new application process that allows districts to nominate two teachers, one at the elementary (K-5) and one at the secondary level (6-12), for Indiana Teacher of the Year.

"We think this is a tremendous opportunity to recognize more of our outstanding teachers," says TSC Superintendent Dr. Scott Hanback. "We will continue the same process of recognizing a Teacher of the Year in each of our schools, then the TSC selection committee will name one elementary and one secondary teacher as district winners to be considered at the state level."

Downham teaches second grade at Cole Elementary School. She began teaching 38 years ago after graduating from Purdue University with a bachelor's degree. She later earned her master's degree from Purdue.

Cole Principal Mike Pinto says Downham is caring, generous and hardworking. "Whether it's staying late to attend a PTO function, planning lessons on the weekend, or staying late after school to figure out the latest technology expectation, Mrs. Downham serves her students," says Pinto. Downham also mentors and supports fellow teachers, as well as helps organize school events.

Greeley is in her thirteenth year of teaching social studies at Harrison High School. She holds a bachelor's and master's degree from Purdue University.

Harrison High School Principal Cory Marshall says every student feels valued and important in Mrs. Greeley's class, regardless of their ability level. "She is excellent at extending and challenging students to achieve beyond what they thought they might be capable of achieving," says Marshall. Greeley is a leader among her colleagues and accepts additional responsibilities in and around school to benefit students.

Downham and Greeley will represent the TSC in the Indiana 2018 Teacher of the Year program. The two teachers were honored along with other TSC Teachers of the Year during the April 26 TSC Staff Recognition Night at McCutcheon High School.

A committee selected Downham and Greeley from a field of 19 building-level winners.

Battle Ground ElementaryTina Cupp
Burnett Creek ElementaryKatie Luebcke
Cole ElementaryDedra Downham
Dayton ElementaryBrady Cain
Hershey ElementaryLinda Faust
Klondike ElementaryApril Lyons
Mayflower Mill ElementaryAudrey Riehle
Mintonye ElementaryLori Frauhiger
Wea Ridge ElementaryMarti Meyers
Woodland ElementaryAndrew Hawk
Wyandotte ElementaryLauren Reed
Battle Ground MiddleKyle Harris
East Tipp MiddleLisa Fallis
Klondike MiddleTerry Sharp
Southwestern MiddleKimberly Weston
Wainwright MiddleRobby Delp
Wea Ridge MiddleRyan Burnette
Harrison High SchoolAshley Greeley
McCutcheon High SchoolSusie Sherlow

posted: April 27, 2017

Powered by Finalsite